Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.
Price: $62.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available to order

Tihanyi László: Scene for Five Characters

for brass quintet (2001, revised in 2008)

playing score

op. 28
Setting: Brass Quintet
Series: EMB Contemporary Music
Period: Contemporary Music
Duration: 15'
Length: 68 pages
Published: January 2014
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14673
ISMN: 9790080146736
The composer calls his Scene for Five Characters for brass quintet a mystery-play parody or a mystical comedy, enriched with theatrical components. The four ancient elements (fire, water, earth and air) evoked by two trumpets, cornet and trombone as performers of several imaginary scenes move on the stage around the tuba as a point of reference. The characteristic tones of the individual instruments and their related humorous representation of motifs render a basic situation of communication, illustrative of human characters and relationships. The subtitles of the nine parts provide help in understanding the scenes: Prelude; Quarrel between Fire and Water; Monologue of the Earth; The Edges Visit the Centre; Fire's Appeasing Serenade to Water; Duet of Air and Earth; Turning Round; Tercet of Fire, Water and Air; Farewell.

The work is dedicated to the Ewald Brass Quintet, which premiered it in Budapest on 2 October 2001. The score contains the revised version of 2008.

Copyright © 2005-2017 Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­