How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Price: $19.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available to order

Kocsár Miklós: Hungarian Dances

from the Sepsiszentgyörgy and Barkóczy manuscripts

Setting: Violoncello and Piano
Genre: Contemporary Hungarian Works
Length: 22 pages
Format: Bach (23 x 30,2 cm)
Weight: 0.113 kg
Published: September 2010
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14729
ISMN: 9790080147290
'A few years ago, an excellent tarogato player asked me to write accompaniments for some 18th-century melodies that were to be featured on a new record of his that was currently under preparation. These unaccompanied tunes that had survived in various collections represented the 'light music' of the courts of the nobility, and included some Magyar or Magyar-like melodies. (Thus, in the absence of other documents, they are of historical importance.) After the record was made, certain tunes stuck in my mind and prompted further thought. After so much wind music I chose a stringed instrument with piano accompaniment. The musical material assumed many different forms in my mind; the wealth of melodies made selection difficult. Finally, at the suggestion of cellist friends, I decided on a shorter, more concise version, and this is what is being published. These two works have been selected among the compulsory pieces for the 2011 national cello competition for specialized secondary schools in Hungary.'

- Miklos Kocsár

Copyright © 2005-2017 Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­