Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.
Price: $19.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available to order

Vajda János: Sonata for Solo Viola

Setting: Viola
Series: EMB Contemporary Music
Period: Contemporary Music
Length: 12 pages
Published: December 2012
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14817
ISMN: 9790080148174
A virtuoso concert piece originally composed for viola in 2004. (The version for violoncello was written in 2006, the second one for violin in 2010.) As in other works by János Vajda, in the well-proportioned structure of the solo sonata and in its wealth of melodic invention the presence of classical models is clearly perceptible, but conceived in a characteristically postmodern manner. The three movements represent three different characters: the dancing rhythm of the main theme reappears in the last movement as a lively toccata; the middle movement, which abounds in pre-classical figurations, evokes the singing, fantasia-like slow movements of the 18th century. The two outside movements are based on the same theme, and the characteristic intervals of this musical idea recur in the slow movement as well.

The work was premiered in 2004 by Katalin Kokas.

Copyright © 2005-2017 Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­