Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.
Price: $67.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: Out of stock.
Store availability: Out of stock

Tihanyi László: Rundherum for piano and string quartet

score and parts

Op. 57
Setting: Chamber Music for Mixed Ensemble
Instrumentation: Piano, string quartet, Manjira or 1 pair of crotals C sharp4 , 3 mouth organs (C/D flat; B; C), 1 triangle, small cymbal; small metal chimes
Series: EMB Contemporary Music
Period: Contemporary Music
Length: 128 pages
Published: August 2012
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14836
ISMN: 9790080148365
The piece was composed in the spring of 2012, at the request of the Kempten International Chamber Music Festival. The title Rundherum refers to the staging of the piece and the movement of the players. Central to the sound are the cello and the piano - their position does not alter during the piece. The other three instruments circle round the central point, both musically and spatially. The piano and the front desk parts represent the world of reality, but when the ‚wandering’ instruments are played at the desks behind the piano, they speak of a hidden world. This drama presents the open and the closed world of the human soul, the contradictions of our public and private being. The difference between the two musical layers is emphasized by the fact that the back desk parts are supplemented with other instruments. The sounds of the mouth organs and percussion instruments raise the music of the ‚inner world’ to another tone-dimension.
Copyright © 2005-2017 Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­