Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.
Scoring Abbreviations
Price: $9.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: Out of stock.
Store availability: Out of stock

Balázs Árpád: Concertino

for concert band


Setting: Concert Band
Instrumentation: picc, 4 fl1, 4 fl2, ob1, ob2, 4 cl1 Bb, 4 cl2 Bb, 4 cl3 Bb, 2 cl b Bb, fg1, fg2, 2 sax a Eb, 2 sax t Bb, sax bar Eb - 2 crnt1 Bb, 2 crnt2 Bb, 2 tr1 Bb, 2 tr2 Bb, 2 tr3 Bb, cor1, cor2, cor3, cor4, 2 trb1, 2 trb2, 2 trb3, 2 flic t Bb/C, 2 euf Bb/C, 2 euf Bb, 2 tb1, 2 tb2 - timp, tamb mil, ptti, gr c
Series: EMB Concert Band Series
Genre: Band Music
Period: Contemporary Music
Grade: 4
Duration: 8:35
Length: 36 pages
Published: June 2014
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14909
Other reference: 14909SET
ISMN: 9790080149096
With its energetic impetus and brilliant instrumentation, Concertino is outstanding in the oeuvre of Árpád Balázs. Among his compositions for concert band, it is by far the most engaging and demanding work. Passing away and a will to live are simultaneously present in Concertino, which Árpád Balázs composed in memory of his beloved father. Its structure brings Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsodies to mind. Its solemn opening (which returns at the end) is followed by a slow and a fast movement; the funereal music of the slow movement evolves from a motif from Bach's St. Matthew Passion which intensifies in a manner similar to the lament in Grieg's Peer Gynt. The pulsing timpani is featured significantly at the beginning and the end of the funereal music. The fast movement represents resolution, resignation, and regained gaiety. This part, pulsating like a waltz and echoing the modulation technique of Richard Strauss, is followed by the solemn return of the opening chords. This music ensures a thrilling experience for listeners and performers alike.

Copyright © 2005-2017 Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­