Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Szőllősy András: Concerto No. 3

for 16 strings

score and parts

Setting: String Orchestra
Instrumentation: per 16 archi (9,3,3,1) (anche campana in fa -)
Period: 20th Century
Duration: 13'
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: SZ-1
Other reference: 10109
In his late-starting career as a composer, András Szőllősy (1921-2007) wrote his Concerto No. 3 for 16 strings in 1968 which brought him his first breakthrough success. The work, first performed by the Liszt Ferenc Chamber Orchestra, won a prestigious award at the 1970 UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers. Szőllősy brings together more than twenty short musical characters: each snapshot also differs in its tempo, the nature of its movement, its dynamics, and the way the instruments are played. At the same time, the mosaic-like composition style draws a dramaturgical arc, the end of which is signaled by thirteen chime-strikes, indicating that we have just finished listening to unsettling mourning music.
Copyright © 2005-2017 Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­