Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Weiner Leó: Divertimento No.1

after old Hungarian Dances for string orchestra

score and parts

Op. 20
Setting: String Orchestra
Instrumentation: ad lib. picc., cor., tr.
Period: 20th Century
Duration: 9'
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: W-2
Other reference: 10161
The Divertimento No. 1 (op. 20), composed in 1923, can be performed by a string orchestra of any size, or even by a string quintet; one of its movements invoves three ad libitum wind parts as well. This cycle of five movements, dedicated to Fritz Reiner, offers today's performers Hungarian dance pieces preserved in old handwritten sources, orchestrated with his characteristic charm and savours. Among the movements occur well-known dance types like csárdás and verbunkos, but also dance movements with a bias towards genre pieces like the Ronde of Marosszék or the extremely popular Fox Dance. (János Malina)


Fox Dance
Ronde of Marosszék
Recruiting Dance
Peasants Dance
Copyright © 2005-2017 Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­