Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.

Weiner Leó: Suite

Hungarian Folk Dances

score and parts

Op. 18
Setting: Orchestra
Instrumentation: 2(II.anche picc.), 2(II.anche c.i.), 2,2 - 4,2,3,1 - timp., batt. - arpa, cel. - archi
Period: 20th Century
Duration: 25'
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: W-3
Other reference: 1047
The orchestral Suite (op. 18) was finished in 1931 and the composer dedicated it to his excellent fellow-composer László Lajtha. Behind the dedication lies an actual cooperation: it was Lajtha who introduced Weiner into the world of the Hungarian instrumental folk music. As a result, in this four-movement orchestral suite the influence of live folk music can be detected. The suite, composed for a medium-size orchestra employing a full wind section exposes a string of dance melodies and solos originally sounded on folk istruments, clad in an inventive and tastfully wrought orchestral texture. (János Malina)


Allegro risoluto e ben marcato
Andante poco sostenuto
Andante poco sostenuto
Copyright © 2005-2017 Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­