Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Balogh Máté: Kunstmusik

score and parts

Instrument: Orchestra
Skład: 3 Fl (3.: Picc), 2 Ob, 3 Cl (3.: Cl in Mi b), 2 Fg (2.: Cfg), 4 Cor, 3 Tr, 3 Trb, Tb, Cel, 4 Perc, Strings
Period: Contemporary Music
Czas trwania: 25'
Pierwsze wydanie: 2020
Wydawca: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Numer katalogowy: B-91
Inne : 15143
Kunstmusik is a symphonic series of variations written on four movements from J. S. Bach's The Art of Fugue. Bach's theme can be perceived sometimes as a real cantus firmus or as a logical organizing principle inviting to intellectual play from the background. The first movement, Introduzione nel modo di P. Esterházy, consists of a humorous "kneading" of the theme, its path leading from the noisy environment created by the percussion to the real Bach quote. This is followed by a hoquetus-like Scherzo, then an homage to András Szőllősy follows, Paesaggio con vivi (Landscape with Livings), with a celestial sound image. The final movement, Marcia militare nel tempo di pace, is a brass band remake based on the harmonic and rhythmic structure of the 2nd contrapunctus of Bach's work, with a military taste so common with the Máté Balogh.

The series has been commissioned by Danubia Orchestra Óbuda and premiered on November 20, 2020 in Budapest under the direction by Benjamin Bayl.


Introduzione nel modo di P. Esterházy (sul Contrapunctus I)
Scherzo a 30 con canto firmo (sul Contrapunctus IV)
Paesaggio con vivi (sul Contrapunctus VIII)
Marcia militare nel tempo di pace (sul Contrapunctus II)