Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Tornyai Péter: Kunst oder Fügung

score and parts

Instrument: Orchestra
Skład: 3 Fl (1-2.: Picc), 2 Ob (2:: C.I.), 3 Cl (3.: Bcl), 2 Fg, 4 Cor, 3 Tr, 3 Trb, Tb, Cel, Arp, Pf, 4 Perc, Strings
Period: Contemporary Music
Czas trwania: 21'
Pierwsze wydanie: 2020
Wydawca: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Numer katalogowy: T-37
Inne : 15145
Kunst oder Fügung, commissioned by Danubia Orchestra Óbuda, is a collection of independent paraphrase pieces based on certain movements of The art of fugue. In Contrapunctus in 25000 punti Bach's 1st contrapunctus emerges from more than twenty-five thousand small points (separate short soft musical sounds), similarly, not only in technical terms, but also in spirit, to the paintings of the painter Károly Keserü. In Intermezzo - doppio senso, the 5th contrapunctus emerges from the Escher-like game of strings moving only upwards and winds moving only downwards. ABsCHied - Adagio is based on the last part of the unfinished 14th contrapunctus, that becomes through an added B-A-C-H (i.e. B flat-A-C-B) ostinato a Mahlerian farewell The series has been premiered in Budapest, on November 20, 2020, under the direction by Benjamin Bayl


Contrapunctus a 25000 punti
Intermezzo - doppio senso
ABsCHied - Adagio